Courses and Costs
What will ARTC cost?
Financial aid and support
University of Delaware Graduate School of Education (GSE) discounts tuition by 62% for DE teachers and DE residents.
State Critical Needs Scholarship (CNS) reimburses tuition for courses required for certification taken during the fall and spring semesters. CNS reimbursement requests MUST go through the district, charter school, or Diocese of Wilmington human resources office and is subject to their requirements as well. Ask your HR director for more information.
The ACCESS Center of the Office of Professional and Continuing Education has a few limited small grants for which ARTC candidates can apply. Ask ACCESS Center about those (302-831-7600).
Troops to Teachers: If you have served or are serving in the US Armed Forces, you may qualify for a special transitional program called “Troops to Teachers.”
The ARTC process requires completing 5 courses and passing Praxis Subject Assessment.
|Praxis Subject Assessments (formerly the Praxis II test) – Your subject
|ARTC Seminars 1, 2, 3 – Non-credit continuing ed.
|EDUC 658 – Discipline and Classroom Management – 3-credit Grad School of ED (GSE)
||State Critical Needs Scholarship (CNS) – Reimburse tuition only for Fall and Spring but NOT Summer and Winter
|EDUC 614 – Teaching the Exceptional Adolescent – 3-credit GSE
||State CNS – Reimburse tuition only for Fall and Spring but NOT Summer and Winter|
|EDUC 749 – Teaching Methods – 3-credit GSE (usually Spring)
||State CNS – Fall & Spring only. No reimbursement for assessment fee.|
|EDUC 622 – Literacy in the Content Area – 3-credit GSE (usually offered in Spring)
||State CNS – Fall & Spring only.|
|**Licensure (effective 1/15/16)||
|Performance Assessment scoring (effective July, 2016)||
Normally, if a candidate receives the State Critical Needs Scholarship (CNS) reimbursement each time it is available, he/she will have to spend approximately $3600 in non-reimbursed fees and tuition costs over two years. Add to that Praxis Core and Praxis Subject Assessment costs for your total.
** A new regulation is being created regarding the $100 fee for an educator’s first license application. DEEDS is being programmed to begin charging on January 15th rather than January 1st to allow adequate time for the process of adopting this new regulation (public comment, board approval, etc.). This one-time licensure fee will not affect educators who already hold a Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced license. The fee will be collected via credit card in DEEDS (Delaware’s educator credential application system) at the time of application for the first license. This past summer, the governor signed H.B. 146 Fees for Educator Licensure into law; and that language can be found under Delaware Code, Title 14, Chapter 1, Subchapter II, § 122 Rules and regulations.